Welch 2034 and 5L roto. Is it really enough?

So I’m looking at buying a Welch 2034 for my 5L rotovap. I am currently using an across international easy vac 9 Cfm compact vac. I know they aren’t the best application but man does it ever pull. I’m looking into purchasing a Welch 2034 and pull my Ai from my roto. What I am wondering is if I am going to be disappointed with the performance of the Welch??.
I would hate to spend 3 times the money on something that takes twice the time.

im new to extracting so i dont know much but i have a welch 2047 and it works great with my 5l roto. i should have bought 2042 as that goes down to 29.85 vs 28.6 and i could use it for my oven but that model werent available at the time of purchase.

1 Like

That’s not your pumps fault. You’re likely seeing an inability to reach “full vac” or -29 because of the guage on your oven. You most likely dont need a “hard vacuum” on your oven anyways. You want to keep your Terps, not rip them out of your slabs. But that depends on what your end product goal is.

1 Like

my 2047 is rated down to 28.6hg, the 2042 is down to 29.86 , for vac ovens dont i want 29.5? im working with ethanol extracted material and trying to make some shatter. i tried a mini slab with a few grams and it never hardened up so i assumed it was my lack of 29.5 ability.

i am using a .9cf neocision oven from bvv. guage reads 28.6 after the 2047 reaches its potential, same as pumps specs online

You need to get the water out of your slabs if they are ethanol extracted. Try 200 proof, cryo temps, and maybe throw some mol seive (3a dessicant) in your filtered solution. Then filter one more time to get the dust out.

3 Likes

i wondered if it was the water content, im using 96% everclear and extracting at -80c. i see best value has 200proof, ill put an order in and try again with your recommendations. thanks!

2 Likes