Vacuum Manifold systems??

Since this is my first thread… my background is industrial/ petrochemical/ offshore oil facility automated control and safety systems.

Question is, why do I not see many operations utilize manifold/ header systems for utilities(vacuum, chillers, cold trap, warm water circulation)?

It seems that rotavap, distillation, and even the bho rig could all be plumbed together with a redundant vacuum system of high quality, high flow rate, deep vacuum pumps. Wouldn’t this be best over the long term as long as you used high-quality SS tubing, swagelock (or similar) fittings, check valves, high-quality vacuum regulators, and a cold trap(s) large enough to operate the system at capacity.

Initial CapEx is higher, but longer term maintenance, parts, and reliability should make up for that…no? Is it strictly a cost problem that prevents this from being the way the industry goes?

at a guess? $ and experience.
until very recently this was all black market…

2 Likes

Mantafold systems are the way to go, especially for a diffusion pump that runs multiple spd’s. We make a bunch of vacuum stuff for ourselves or anyone interested. Here is my buddy @Indofab doing his do…

I’ll post some pics after he welds this peice.

5 Likes

A manifold is a convenience but not a performance improvement. The question is why are people not using a manifold system when clearly there are a multitude of options for such a system?

The answer is very simple; because a manifold system does not solve any problem currently identified by producers that would make it worthwhile.