Salve Potency Testing Issue

Hey all. I’ve had a chronic problem that the salves I am manufacturing keep testing out low for CBD potency (on the order of 10-15% below target). I know that I am adding the correct amount of full spectrum oil… My tinctures and massage oils come back within plus/minus 0-4% of the target potency every single time. Has anyone else had this issue? Is it possible that something in coconut oil or beeswax creates testing inaccuracies? Could the fat in coconut oil mask the CBD or something? Thoughts? Thanks!

Density matters.

We were doing everything by weight, until we realized our 2oz jars held held 12 g less salve than we anticipated (compared to our body butter, lotion, which fit 56.6 g in our 2 oz jar perfectly). This wildly thew off our CBD concentrations, had to adjust based the amount of salve that actually fit to the fill line.

There a many variables tho and I’m no expert…

Yes it is possible that there is interfering interactions between your active ingredient (CBD) and other ingredients in the formulation itself. Are you doing in-house testing on this product? If so, then more method development may be needed for this product specifically. Not all methods of CBD analysis will be universal and translatable to all CBD products.

If you are testing at a 3rd party lab, then you may need to discuss the formulation with their team and determine if their typical method of preparation and analysis is going to be adequate for the formulation you’ve been manufacturing.

There are any number of possible issues behind this that could lie on either the formulation side (such as poor mixing, poor solubility/stability) or on the analytical side (sample preparation, method of analytical analysis).