Retrofitting an Industrial Centrifuge For Room Temp Hexane Extraction

I am constantly watching equipment auctions and used equipment sellers for all types of equipment. I keep running across basket centrifuges and ask myself why cant I retrofit this to work in our lab?

I would be doing room temp extraction so jacketed isnt required. Some are already c1d2 rated and comes with all explosion proof controls.

I’m not sure if they are floodable or not but i assume some are, is there an easy way to tell if its floodable or not? I’m assuming it dependent on the capacity and weight ratings and overall design but i have no hands on centrifuge experience.

Here are a few examples i have found
This looks like an industrial washing machine with explsion proof controls.

Heres another cool complete skid

Heres a great looking unit as well.

Do you guys see any reason one of these wouldnt work for extraction assuming it has the proper seals and is c1d2 rated, and spins fast enough?

1 Like

The only thing stopping you from doing it is yourself. There’s a picture of @cyclopath sitting in a giant peeler centrifuge he was working on a few months back. That thing is a beast! This trick has been performed a number of times by a number of people. At one point in time, I wrote a 20+ page long SOP for this kind of retrofitting.

There are a ton of fuges that have the potential to be useful, but there is typically a significant amount of work that will likely also involve a fabricator (and I have a great one here locally I’m happy to pass your way. Just text me, and I’ll get it to you).