Preroll Masters Advice Needed

Hey Guys,

Wanted to see if anybody had any advice on producing prerolls from flower that burn well and don’t canoe or run or end up with the last third of the preroll “collapsing” making it hard or impossible to draw. I’m using a Python grinder from Tom’s and Knock Boxes and I’m trying to figure out the best base settings to prevent the above issues. Any advice on adjusting for different variables strain to strain is also welcome.

Thanks guys

I would say typically canoeing is not a paper issue, but an issue with how the weed is packed into it. If your joints are clogging up closer to the filter, try cutting your filter in half, or using a filter with wider spacing to allow for more airflow. I agree the clogging is an issue especially with resin infused joints, but I’ve found switching the filters up makes a big difference.

take this with a grain of salt as i’m not an expert on pre-rolls!

3 Likes

Could be manufacturer tall tales but I have been told that the closing them in a crown fashion helps create a more central coal. Anecdotally… maybe.

I might recommend perhaps more finer material. All my issues really revolve around the differences in material. Balled up and chunky material is usually the most difficult. It creates problems all the way down our stm line. So we do what we must to achieve a minimal material size… sift if you must. Not sand, but finer than you would get generally from one milling. Always a moving target pretty much from strain to strain or run to run. Hell if it’s hot and humid in your work space that’s not helping either.

Good filled cones/prerolls are kind of an art if you ask me. No one thing will likely fix this.

I would try getting finer material or atleast confirm when you have a firm idea of what fine trim is smoking like. Pm if you want tricks on getting particulate size down without totally beating all the love off.