Pentane vs. Pentanol for CBD isolate

Hey guys,

I am new to CBD isolate and was looking to purchase pentane from VRW. I see that there are multiple different types and wondering how this effects the process? Is pentane 98% better to use than say pentanol? etc.

Thanks for the help!

1 Like

You should look up what the difference of the two are and take a guess.

I’ll give you a hint though… alcohols do not work well for making isolate.

Also due to your original question i would urge you to avoid pentane altogether and look into heptane as its safer to use, Doesnt require c1d1 and wont evaporate into your room and cause an explosion AS easily, It has a large Delta T which will provide a better precipitation of your isolate and lastly its also a lot cheaper.

I’m not trying to insult you but please do a little more research or reading before playing with these solvents as the question you asked throws up some big flags about your lack of basic organic chemistry knowledge. Hydrocarbons are a lot less forgiving than the alcohols im guessing you are using to extract with.

5 Likes

Thanks! I am equipped with a C1D1 booth, nutsche filter/dryer, vacuum and have looked into the process. I was thrown for a loop when someone else suggested the use of pentanol and clarifying. The difference is the -OH group between the two.

Heptane is a better solvent but harder to rid the product of with the higher boiling point. As this is a commercial product and large batch size my employer wants to use Pentane.

As stated above, I am new to the process and have been researching. Thanks for the help!

2 Likes