Passive 1# CLS and questions about recovering

I just received my 1# system from @Killa12345 and today was the first run. This is my first time using a CLS and I learned the process from the resources on this site.

My first run came out as expected for the material. My main issues were my recovery speed, which was abysmal, and the amount of solvent holdup still in my column.

The question I have for now is about the solvent hold up and the proper way to get it out of that column. I was reading on another thread about someone using nitrogen assist and getting a great deal of hold up. One suggestion was to recover from the top and here is where i get confused. The way i recover is i take my empty solvent tank and attach one port to my recovery pot, which currently has the valve closed (duh, it’s full of solvent and oil under a mild amount of pressure), and the other to my vacuum pump. I draw a full vacuum on the empty tank (that i made sure to bleed whatever was left before pulling vac), place the empty tank in some dry ice/denatured alcohol and finally place the recovery pot in warm water. Once all that is setup I disconnect my vacuum pump and then i finally open the port from my recovery pot to the solvent tank.

If i were to the follow the users suggestion would that mean instead of connecting the solvent tank to my recovery pot directly i would instead connect the solvent tank to the top of my column and follow the same process? Or did they mean somehow recovering initially from the recovery pot and then after from the top of the column? As i wrote that down it seemed kind of dumb but i wanted to ask anyway. And if somehow that is what’s done could someone maybe point me in the right direction?

Thanks

1 Like