Open source CXE retrofit for Co2 extractors

Greetings,

First let me give thanks for all those who are responsible for this wonderful forum. I started learning about Cannabis on overgrow and moved to ICmag after the fallout. These forums stand the test of time and will teach the next generation of cannabis scientists. Thank you

I would like to create a open source kit to convert old supercritical extractors into CXE extractors. There are hundreds of Co2 extractors sitting idle because the owners could not justify running supercritical extractions. The bones of these extractors are good, the parameters they operate at are not.

I purpose that we create a source of components that can be used to repair the shortcomings of these old supercritical designs. With a addition of a pump and heat exchanger we could transform these old designs into a viable CXE extraction system.

I need to know is would you rather have:
A- a turn-key skid that can be added to a existing system
B- a list of components that can be purchased and assembled to retrofit a extractor.

A turn key solution would include a german triplex pump, a metered injection pump, and a brazed plate heat exchanger. These additions engineered on a skid would cost around $9k.

The alternative would be to keeping the OEM pumping and condensing units and add a metered injection pump. This option would cost around $3k and allow for CXE but not address the pump and condensing problems that plague supercritical Co2 machines.

Please let me know what you think and add any ideas that you may have. I consider this a community project and if we can save just one Co2 extractor from collecting dust then I would consider it a success.

16 Likes

my first response involved language I’d rather not leave lying around. :slight_smile:

lets just call it enthusiastic…

Open source? same unprintable enthusiasm.