Never done a formal consulting gig, was asked to do one. am i being reasonable?

Hi all, I have never done a formal consult for any company. I have definitely helped plenty of friends with stuff, but never a business seeking my help. I would like your opinion if I am over charging/ not charging enough. The job is in southern California and I will be installing CLS, Distillation, working on layout, training staff on the equipment, and writing SOP’s. I have 25 years of experience in cannabis, 15 years in Extraction, and 5 years of Operations/Compliance in the market. I told the company 5k for retainer(allows them to call and ask questions anytime) $100/H for physical on site work, training, and SOP’s. the company will also pay for travel.

1 Like

The retainer is a solid price/idea.

I would charge 200$ an hour for on sight training Unless they guarantee you like 40 hours of on sight training minimum or something like that.

I would normally charge per SOP to draft up SOPs for them.

But since your already charging a 5k retainer I think just charging them the time it takes to draft them up is fair.

5 Likes

Thank you

The retainer fee is very fair. A job like this can take an extensive time. You will need to do a lot of research unless your familiar with every equipment your installing and don’t have to be innovative to meet the client needs Bc of budget.

Given the size of the job. I would charge by a 40 hour week. You don’t want to leave a job especially your first one not 100% complete and confident the staff are capable to run the equipment efficiently.

Also SOPs if they have a specific one Youre unfamiliar with they need locate the best person of their craft on here and buy the sop from them. Charge the client the X amount of dollars. Also anytime you provide that SOP to another client keep giving $ back to original creator.