Need Help Using Vacuum Chamber. Where does the ethanol go?

I just got this pump from ebay with its chamber, its my first time ever using it, I will only use it to remove ethanol from the oil and my biggest question is, where does the ethanol go ? Where does it come out of ? The red cap ? The big blue cap ? The back ? It has to come out of somewhere but i dont know where that somewhere is, all I know is that I dont want ethanol being exhausted into my room so I was wondering if there is a way to avoid that from happening, other than that any tips or recommendations are greatly appreciated.

It gets stuck in the pump oil effectively ruining the oil.
You can put a cold trap in between your oven and pump. Or since it’s a cheap pump, just get some cheap pump oil and change it often

6 Likes

Also they make mist filters that go on where the cap is filtering smoke etc from going into your room. They make some with kf25 on both side so you can connect multiples or a hose at the end to dump outside.
If you want to use one of these filters you will need a threaded to kf25 adapter. A kf25 clamp and gasket. And the filter

2 Likes

The blue gas cap is your exhaust. But yeah, your oil is going to eat a lot of it up. You can plumb the exhaust to go out a window or get a mist filter for it

Thanks a lot man, yeah I would really like to add a cold trap to it, would you show me a link of a cold trap you would use for this ?? I had been looking for one but I was not sure if I was looking at the right ones, thanks again !!

I don’t run a cold trap. Honestly a cold trap is going to cost more then that pump is worth. I’d personally just run it and change the oil more often. If you go this route hit up @david his glassware is great at an awesome price. And custom made. I would run the fullbore coldtrap and kf-25 Hoses if this was for me. If you go that route you will also need 2 24/40 to kf-25 adapters and 2 kf25 hoses clamps etc
If your running rubber hoses