Need Help Setting up a Lab

Hey Guys,

Im new to this industry so any help would be greatIy appreciated.
I am setting up a new lab. I already purchased a Lab Society 20L Short Path Kit and a 20L Ai RotoVaps. I’m hung up on what extractor I should purchase. What would help me maximize production withe two pieces I already have.
One more important thing. I’m working out of a garage so power is limited!

Thanks in Advance

Dry ice, some vessels, a filter, a centrifuge, a stir plate, some filter aid/media and you can start working. This is obviously a gross simplification but these are the starting blocks.

The best place to read up is:
[(Bucket Tek (Cold Ethanol Extraction on a Budget) - #36 by cyclopath)

You can DM me if you want and we can chat offline.

3 Likes

Thank You Jay-TL, I’ll be reaching out to you soon.

What are you aiming to produce? Distillate only?

1 Like

Hey ZizzleB. Yes just Distillate

I would go the path of having an ACE or CUP alcohol extractor, for time and efficiency.

Like Dred Pirate said, the CUP extractors are pretty dang efficient and would be a great unit to start with… Delta makes a great one that isn’t particularly cheap but is a great piece of equipment if its in the budget… Do you have a proposed budget for your extractor?

2 BIG issues with a CUP or Ace rocking out of your garage are a) how are you going to get enough ethanol to run it, last I checked most companies are no longer delivering large quantities to home addresses (I could be wrong though) and b) you will quickly dig yourself into a massive backlog of tincture which after a certain point becomes an issue because cannabis in ethanol starts to degrade over time. This means you will be spending a lot more on ethanol to always have enough to run. This also makes it much more dangerous having all that Ethanol just chilling in your garage :fireworks::fire: :fire_engine:
Quick math: