My distillate has a weird smell

I don’t have lab stuff and I’m a noob let’s be honest now lmao is there a way to remove the smell and or what is it ?its like a floral smell

Floral smell may be residual Terps from swapping flasks too soon.

Or a dirty jar/flask was used and got contaminated that way.

4 Likes

Any way to remove or do something about it

Maybe check this out: I make terrible distillate....why? - #184 by JHI

3 Likes

I still don’t get it is there a way to heat it to remove the smell or how can I do this at home

you gotta distill it again. if you can’t do that you can try letting it sit on heat with no lid for a while. if that doesn’t work you’re probably better off masking the smell with some terps.

5 Likes

You think just heat bath at what temp? Or you think sunlight helps more and how much terp you think

Yes… but under vacuum, you got some reading to do

Bless me please I’ll buy a vaccum tommorow send me the link or sum

Hey man so if your disty is stinky its likely contaminated with som degraded lite terpenes, it happens easily and often. heat it up however you can best do that (warm-hot water bath is good) and stir it for a while while its hot - this will purge out any of those lower boiling impurities that may be in there.
this will also have the negative side effect of darkening your distillate, so use your best judgment as to when you might want to stop.

2 Likes

So when you say “my distillate”, you mean the distillate you purchased?

Did you not stick your nose in it first?

What is your goal?

Have you had it tested for potency?
Residual Solvents?
Pesticides?

1 Like

Long story short homie blessed me I’m just tryna fix wtih what I got. Like I said I don’t know much but I know this distill is off but if Low bath works or heat and it will help remove it. I’m down any more pointer or ways

Doesn’t answer “what is your goal”?

You planning to huff it?
Make eddibles?
Add terps and make carts?

Is this personal use?