Mother plant health/tips

I figured I would get a thread started so everyone could post there tips and tricks to keep healthy mother plants. I’m pro but I for sure want to learn new things/ ideas.

I used to keep my mother’s in a pre amended living soil but I’m no pro with organic and hate that if you make a mistake that it takes much longer to get back into control vs straight coco.

I got new moms rooting and I’m going to give them a try in coco this go.

1 Like

Yes someone give advice. I have an issue indoors where at some point the moms are just too big. nodes everywhere and braches and HUGE Do you just cut it super short? I wind up rooting clones and making them moms. Ive never had ONE mom lasting more than 2 years.

1 Like

Iv’e had moms for more then 7 years, good soil i alway mix coco with earth 50/50i feed organic with mycorhiza so the plant goes in symbiose with the soil and just keep upping containers as she grows. And indeed just cut down or take a rope and bend it down defoliate the biggest fan leaves and she will be back bigger better and stronger. Greetings from the netherlands​:+1::netherlands:

5 Likes

what size containers? and how tall/ im in a limited space and not selling clones so when the mom is filling most of a 4x4 its time to make a new mom in my situation. i dont need 69 clones.

I’ve read not to keep mothers more then a year max and less is better.

Last week I bought sterile blades for taking cuts to make sure I have no cross contamination.

I have a feeling we all have strains with hop latent viroid, I called a lab up here and they told me 25% of all samples received were infected.

1 Like

ive never bought clones until this year. Ill have to research that virus.

1 Like