Making My Own Tincture

Making a tincture today. Currently boiling the ethanol off. Will post updates.

1 Like

The cost of ethanol is significantly high. I trust you are pursuing the process of ethanol recovery, rather than a mere evaporation, to optimize its usage and cost-effectiveness. Appreciate your contribution and wish you the best of luck.
More details would be cool as well if you find the time? =)

1 Like

I am not recovering the ethanol as its small scale and I could care less about the ethanol loss. Its currently “bubbling” right now and boiling off.

Just using a hotplate for this.

Should I be concerned about how hard it is boiling? Its my first time ever dabbling with something like this so I want to make sure I boil all of it off or at least as much as I can.

1 Like

Ethanol vapors are heavier than air and if it catches fire it burns clear. Be careful with that

6 Likes

Thanks. I have been concerned about that. Doing it outside and watching it carefully with a fire extinguisher next to me.

My old coworker had that happen to him once with gasoline and a heater in his work trailer. Blew up the trailer.

1 Like

@ky_cbd How should I know when most of the ethanol has been boiled off?

I don’t intend to sound prescriptive, but this underscores the importance of having even a rudimentary solvent recapture system in place. This approach is superior not only from a cost-efficiency perspective but also in terms of safety. Rather than allowing the solvent to evaporate into the environment, it is channeled into a designated container.

It’s challenging to offer a comprehensive assessment without observing the process in real-time. It’s undoubtedly advisable to proceed with caution and prioritize safety. Your decision to seek guidance from experts, such as ky_cbd, is a prudent one.
(doing it outside is smart =) )

2 Likes

To determine when most of the ethanol has been boiled off from a liquid mixture, you can use several methods and observations: