Legal Interstate Transport of CBD

With the assumption that a given lot of Biomass was legal under the 2014/2018 Farm Bills, what provision is there to transport extracts from that same Biomass that, due to processing, now contain more than .3% THC across state lines? I’ve often heard of “in process” transport where as long as the extracts are going from one facility to another for further processing, the amount of THC doesn’t matter as long as the original Biomass source was compliant. Is that true? Or is it just a legal opinion?

2 Likes

Do not cross state lines with any product over .3% THC.

EVER.

8 Likes

Buy and Download a copy of Hemp Rules: A Handbook for Hemp & CBD Businesses its a great tool for companies looking to be federally compliant

1 Like

First off I’m not a lawyer. Second, it’s pretty clearly illegal. There’s no exception in the farm bill for shipping “in process” items. And if you are selling said item across state lines it’s not “in process”.
People motivated by money will come up with all kinds of contortions to justify it, and then use that is very unlikely to actually get busted to further argue that is legit.
Choice is yours

6 Likes

I will definitely buy and download this book. However, do you know if addresses my question in view of the 2014/2018 Farm Bills?

1 Like

@TomSCook - all of the responses were appropriate. What you are asking if it would be okay to do is illegal.

There is no wiggle room for transporting a product that has a +0.3% concentrate, regardless of what you call it. We don’t have to question this - because that’s both how its written AND how it is being enforced by this administration.

There is a section of the USDA Final Interim Rule which outlines this really well, IMO.