Is this vacuum pump adequate for my smallscale?

So I’m looking to upgrade my old pump, a Robinair 15500. I’ve had it for 6+ years, no issues other then oil mist and db levels.

My scale is small, I have a 3g and 5g heated vacuum chambers, and a 1 liter vacuum flask.

The pump in question:
https://www.amazon.com/Gast-DAA-V715A-EB-High-Capacity-Vacuum-Gauge/dp/B003LYBJRU/ref=zg_bs_393484011_83?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=35ZNCJX6B8NZTX62596K

I know it can’t pull a full vac, but can it still fully purge winterized material? I’m not a production facility, so if I need to leave my materials in the chamber for longer, then that’s fine. Currently I use my chamber mostly with passive vacuum, I’ll run my robinair for 10~ minutes, lock the chamber and let it set for hours. So while the diaphragm pump doesn’t pull as deep of a vacuum, being oil free and comparatively quiet, I’ll be able to run it longer.

Could I use the diaphragm pump with my vacuum flask because it’s relatively low cfm? I’m debating buying a 2l flask. The pump I have for my vacuum flask is small, while my robinair is too much.

I could use the diaphragm pump if I ever get a rotary evaporator

My goal is to get a pump that not as loud, my robinair is around 80db, and preferably dry as the pump is used in my home and I don’t want oil mist

1 Like

6 years …too old, buy a new ,man

1 Like

what kind of guages do you use to tell vac level? I have regular compund guages and it goes down to -30 but I dunno if thats a full vac based on microns. It only takes a few mins and I hear you should vac for hours in hvac. I use the sound of the pump to tell more than the guage but im sure my harbor freight pump isnt the best, and its 6 years old.

That is not a chemically rated pump. It is has a neoprene diaphragm and is designed for clean air applications like dental offices, et al.