Industry Needs in Chromatography

Hello!

I am inquiring about production needs of processors that work with or are looking to add solvent-free chromatography to their lineup.

Although I am an independent, I am part of a team that has successfully developed and deployed acid-retention chromatography columns and methods that boast a 30% loading rate and a stationary phase media longevity of at least 500 loads. This process is utilizes a hydrocarbon co-solvent, however.

I was recently contracted to aid in the development, design and engineering of a solvent-free, supercritical CO2 chromatography system by a large sCO2 OEM. Although I have extensive background and experience in sCO2 tech, extraction and engineering, my market knowledge in the solventless realm is lacking.

Hopefully there’s some info out there that can help guide our design process and timeline. We’re curious about what flow rates, throughputs, scale and fractionation constituents are most desired. What level of flexibility and process constraints must be met? Our builds are already cGMP and 21 CFR Part 11 compliant, but are there any other standards that are desired to be met?

This is a customer-driven project, as we want to meet the immediate needs of the industry without missing a beat or developing something completely out of the scope and budget of the processor.

I’d sincerely appreciate any feedback that you can offer!

Thanks in advance!!
E

2 Likes

Here we go with this again.

Hey could you explain to me how the CO2 is not a solvent in this instance, please?

13 Likes

Because we exhale it man…

4 Likes

Im intrigued, but slightly confused on your definition of “solvent free”.

Can you elaborate more on what you mean by that? Are you using solvent as a synonym for hydrocarbon solvents only?