If you could do it again? Looking for help choosing a certified closed loop on a budget

Hi everyone. been reading on here for a few months, first time posting. im in Oklahoma about to set up a tiny licensed bho/pho extraction lab. Im familiar with passive extraction. ive been using a couple 1/2 lb tamisiums for a few years. they are notoriously slow and unproductive and i cant get them certified so i need to up grade. i want to keep it as cheap as possible so im trying to avoid chillers and just use dry ice. im looking at ets, mk v, terpanator, bhogart, apollo, summit, and every one else i can find. The prices are either really high or pretty low. ets 1300 is crazy expensive like a new small car and i just dont understand why or how that is. other systems seem to have way too much extra shit i dont think i need but im not sure. for instance would i need to worry about a jacketed column and dewaxing chamber if im running super cold solvent cooled via dry ice and heat exchanger coil?
I suppose thats just the long way of saying im pretty inexperienced here, i dont want to make the wrong decisions on equipment, and id like to learn from your experience.

my plan is to get a closed loop extractor with 2.5 lb capacity, cps trs21 recovery pump, heat exchanger coil, and use dry ice to run sub zero solvent. what am i missing?

on the post recovery side ive already got an AI 1.9 and small vac pump. im thinking about upgrading to a agilent idp3 for the purging.

How would you pull this off if you only had around $12,000? it looks like i have some options, i just have no idea the consequences of going cheap. the high end was looking like $25k. thats crazy expensive for a tube and some accessories lol. or maybe not. Chinese vs American steel seemed to make a big difference in price but i have no idea if stainless from the US is superior or not. thanks for taking the time. looking forward to hearing form yall.

1 Like