Head of Cultivation in New Company

Hello everyone,

I have the opportunity to be head of cultivation for a 7500 sq ft indoor facility in Oklahoma. My question is regarding salary, sops, and intellectual property (IP).

I have 5 years of indoor experience, 2 years of outdoor experience, and 2 years of commercial indoor experience.

The owners want to pay me 25% of harvest profits, with 5k a month for living expenses, which they would deduct from the 25% at the end of every harvest. In addition, I would get 25% from every order of their clone business as well.

This is a new facility that they are building out and I would be working solo with the owner and two other people to start. So this means that I also have to train all 3. The owner has no experience other than the retail side of cannabis. There is also no operational SOPs being given on their behalf, which I am very open to creating for them ( but I don’t know pricing).

My questions are

1. What should I ask for as a Head of Cultivation salary? (Given that I am basically making this operational for them and providing the knowledge and training)

2. How much do I charge them per operational SOP? (Ex. Cloning,veg, ipm, flower, harvest, etc)

3. How do I protect myself from being fired after they obtain basic knowledge and understanding of the SOPs and procedures?

1 Like

I think the real question here is what happens if the company does not turn a profit and they come to collect on your 25%.

That is the first thing I’d pound out.

8 Likes

Like @BrotanicalMatt said. I would figure out the fine details of the contract. 25% of a profit margin, on a company you have 0 control over could also end up leaving your broke…

2 Likes

If he charges them for the sops then they can fuck him over later.

I would straight up take a salary unless your prepared for disaster

1 Like

That’s exactly what I was thinking too. Which leads me to ask what would fitting salary be given all the work that it will entail?