Has any one ever had the power go out in the middle of an opperation (rotovapping, distilling, etc.)?

If so, did any of your equipment get fried? I’m no electrician, but it seems like that could be bad for various pieces of equipment (chillers, recirculaters, rotovaps, vac pumps, etc.). If the power does suddenly go out, is it best to unplug everything so that there are no complications when it comes back on?

And for everyone else, do you have measures in place to minimize damage should the power suddenly go out? Is there anything other than a back up generator that could be employed?

2 Likes

Worst part is if you use a wet vacuum pump with no antisuckback valve. Oil in the oil is no fun. Chiller and other equipment should have no trouble unless you’re running 3P and you only lose one phase. I’d recommend some sort of phase loss protection if the equipment doesn’t already have it (which pretty much any reputable manufacturer would).

6 Likes

I have had the power go out while using the rotary evaporator. Nothing bad happened whatsoever. I turned off the equipment until the power came back on and resumed my work

3 Likes

We blew up the power company transformer while I had everything running. Horrible surges and brown out before it blew. Thank god no equipment was damaged, but I was sure nervously awaiting power restoration so I could check everything out. Turns out you can finish a distillation on a generator…

Definitely unplug everything until the power comes back on. And a UPS (uninterruptible power supply) in combination with a backup generator is the best way to go. Don’t forget to install a surge arrester on the main panel. They have saved my ass more than once.

1 Like

It absolutely sucks and you should wire in a RV generator plug to your location and have a bare min to bring down reactions and rotos and such…I always had a 10kw Genny on standby in case I needed it.

3 Likes