Green, waxy distillate

Hello All,

First post. I am an extraction scientist and I have been running the VTA wiped film short path. We use CO2 resin produced from ExtraktLabs extractor that is waxy and green. I have been noticing that my THC distillate has a cloudy green appearance and I believe I see wax bands inside it. Any tips on how to improve the distillate? We are unable to winterize the material before running it through the SP due to licensing issues. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

If you cannot winterize you will have to employ selective solubility with your chosen solvent. This will be tricky with co2. Why can you not winterize? A table top hood isn’t an option? Or can you not use any solvents besides co2?

Dissolve in ph 13 water
Yields will be horrible thou

1 Like

Green hue is likely some terpene contamination. Waxy/hazy is going to be due to your regulations disallowing winterization

2 Likes

How does azulene behave on a wiper ?
Bleu and gold yellow make green :thinking:

3 Likes

Here’s some terpenes on a first pass terpene strip on a WFE. I can get these to be more colorless by running a terpene strip at 130 deg C instead of 177 deg C, but my lights flask will be deep blue on the subsequent distillate run. I had pictures of the blue separation on another phone but that would require me to look for it.

2 Likes

You can avoid a bit of the fat by running a three cut sop on the wfd. First cut for terps, keep heavy fraction. Second cut run a tad high temp (don’t cook the beejeesus out of it tho so maybe 171-175 c or something like that) keep light fraction. Then take a sweet and low cut with temps 5-10-ish degrees lower, should leave many fats behind in the heavies

5 Likes

Oops this is thc distillation, right? You’ll want to cut the second and third passes a bit higher temp. My mistake

1 Like