Getting my process running right.

Hey guys,
So some background, I’m a analytical / biochemist by training. Start of the year I took over an extraction facility. I was a total newb for hemp CBD. So I’ve spent almost the last year learing, posting on here (this site is the best resource ever) . After reading through I have a decent production flow going but I’m sure I have gaps somewhere. So below is my production flow and I’d love you alls advice as to where / how to upgrade and anything I might be missing.

1. Is extraction with 2 delta CUP-15 units with -40C EtOH (I run these pretty much non-stop over 2 10-hour shifts)
  2. Filter with Delta’s provided lenticular filtration units (at -40c again)
  3. Evap on one of the Ecodyst X7 evaporators (two 72L and one 100L units)
  4. Short path distillation ( Lab Society Setup)
  5. Some oil is kept here as Broad Spectrum Distallate
  6. Rest is put through THC remdiation on a Biotage Isolera LS unit
  7. Evap again on one of my X7 units

So I think I have a decent work flow here. What should I be doing between steps? I’m checking pH but I’m not sure on large scale pH fixing. Its just collecting data right now.

I also have set-up my in house analytics (thats what I was actually hired on intially to do but thats my wheel house I’m pretty confident there). Pair of HPLC-DADs and a GC-MS (single quad) and a GC-IR

Should I be doing any other filtering? How would you work in pH adjustment (if needed) at this scale etc?

Thanks in advance guys

5 Likes

Sounds like you’re ahead of many in this game, and are approaching it in the correct manner!

Congrats!!

Hi Jphealy, we are a filter company and I see your using lenticular filters. If you want an alternative source, we keep stock. Also, should you be filtering more? I would need to know few marabout your process and then could make a recommendation if needed. We would love to help! Thanks, Greg gregh@heyesfilters.com

2 Likes

How much biomass can u run through a day