General Distillate Questions

Hello, i have been distilling for a couple years now. I follow @Photon_noir and @Future on ig regularly. I have read every thread on this site that contains what i am looking for.

My main questions are:

• Is there a way to neutralize (or buy) bleach clay and/or AC so i can use it in the boiling flask without isomerization?

I try to make the lightest colored product possible, as we all do, so im looking for an easy yet effective way to do so. Ive tried scrubs + degumming with enzymes but i cannot get as light of a color if i don’t use absorbents in the boiling flask

• Have we figured out oxidation preventative measures?

Yes i keep my distillate under vac. Im talking more about making vape tanks. We will make 1k tanks but half of them discolor before even getting to a shop. I read @Shadownaught mention ECGC from green tea. Future tried Vitamin E. Photon has mentioned its either phosolipids, cannabinoids or both oxidizing. Ive noticed, like future has said, excessive degumming leads to rapid oxidation.

Ive picked up tree base klear for testing purposes. It didnt oxidize for weeks which leads me to believe there is a way to do.

• Whats the best way for sure-fire water clear(or pale yellow) d9 distillate?

This kind of pairs with the first question. Like i mentioned, i prefer absorbents in the boiling flask. What would be the best way to avoid this? Id prefer to stay way from chroma if possible.

3 Likes

Well, sure fire method is to crystallize THCa, then just decarb and distill it under vacuum. Neutralizing clay or AC deactivates them, but you would need so much base to do it that it would negatively impact the distillation process. And fyi, oxidation of cannabinoids can happen invisibly.

3 Likes

You always give the “right” answer but never the answer id like to hear :sweat_smile: But thank you for the hasty reply!