First Run BHO, Problems with yield and potency

Hey there,

I’m pretty new to the bho scene and I have recently built up my own extraction column and also made my first passes. Before I have done that, I really read a lot on this page.

So my passes hadn’t been too bad ive made 1 batch with about 100g of trim and also tried two frozen extractions.
First some facts about my column.
I have a 2” column which fits about 50g of nugs, leading to a 6x6” collecting chamber. I do not recover my solvent. I have a 4CFM 2 stage vacuum pump from best value vacs. And I have only used butane this time. That’s pretty much it.
Now I will let you know how I have done it and will ask some questions which I couldn’t find in the threads, Sorry if it is somewhere and I haven’t found it I really searched a lot.

So first I chilled my Column with dry ice and Isopropyl, I have also chilled my collecting chamber just the solvent was not chilled. Then I filled my column with the dry trim set it under vacuum and filled the column with gas. Then I had let it sit for about 10 minutes and opened my ball valve to the collecting chamber. The next step was the filtration, I have a bottle top with 0,2 my. After filtering I let evaporate the butane on a heating mat at about 25-30°C (77-86f)
From 100g trim I got about 6g extract so that yield for just sugar leafs was not to bad I guess.

That was the first extraction, the second one started with the frozen nugs. Ive done the same procedure as before. First time ive let it set for about 15 minutes. After evaporation I recognized that I had very less yield. So I made a second run on this material and let it set for another 30-45 minutes. The color was different and after evaporating I have seen that the second pass was way more “oilie” than the first pass, so I guess the second pass has been more Terps? Might it that be?