Ethanol vs Heptane

Hello my newly found amazing friends! I have an opportunity to purchase either 200 proof Ethanol, or n-heptane for a price I am negotiating but should be fairly cheap. I am fairly new to using either of these solvents. I wanted to get some input from some of the more experienced people on here. If I could get some advice, I would greatly appreciate it guys. I am very excited to be able to use these and experiment with them. If you could give me some opinions or good papers to read about either of these on these subjects, I would be very grateful.

1. Pros and Cons
  2. Price per gallon I should negotiate towards
  3. Processes I can use them
  4. If either of them are worth buying a couple gallons
  5. Anything you think is worth mentioning
  6. Any safety precautions I should take

I am going to be doing a bit more research myself over the night, but I am truly curious to see what the minds on here have to say. Thank you everyone!

1 Like

Also I have reason to believe the solvents have been sitting unused for some time. Is this something I should be concerned about? They have been sitting in sealed plastic drums

Fire safety is generally more of a concern with heptane due to poor charge dissipation and greater volatility (lower heat of vaporization). This frequently results in increased limitations from various regulatory bodies on heptane. If these are not concerns for you, heptane is pretty much a super extraction solvent in every regard other than how it extracts excess lipids/doesn’t dewax very well

2 Likes

So if I were to go with the heptane I would be at great risk of dealing with fires. What is the best way to go about storing heptane to avoid this?

If you go with heptane you’re going to need ethanol or methanol to winterize anyway so you’d essentially be preapring for both or just ethanol.

3 Likes