Ethanol recovery yield

Hello, I’m new to ethanol extraction so please forgive my ignorance. I have chosen food grade ethanol 190 proof as my solvent which costs me $136 per litre. It’s very expensive compared to other solvents used for extraction but my goal is to make my meds as clean as possible so denatured ethanol and butane are not an option for me and my pockets aren’t deep enough for CO2.

I am going to be experimenting with bucket tek, I have a RE-301 rotary evaporator and a Panda spin dryer as a centrifuge ready to go.

Once again, forgive me… But how much ethanol should I expect to recover per litre of 190 proof going in? And approximately what proof would it be watered down to?

Just looking for a rough idea to get me started on my journey.

I lose about 1lb of ethanol to the biomass for every 10lb of biomass processed. that is not in a panda, and requires an 8 min spin at 1000G. (panda is a hair faster)

and a little more at devol/decarb.

if you’re extracting cold, the bulk of your solvent will still be at 190 coming out of the rotovap.

Why is it that even when retaining proof of alcohol, the extraction efficiency is lowered after several recoveries of the same ethanol?

1 Like

Do you have hard data on that?

I haven’t seen a drop-off, and have generally assumed those reporting said drop-off where not checking their proof (and presumably extracting warmer than I do).

1 Like

I’ll have some averages by the end of February. It doesn’t help that my switch from one biomass to another coincides with my first recycle of solvent.

1 Like

Heptane denatured?

The data I gathered was pre-centrifuge, so there was a lot more fresh solvent being added…and was also for straight ethanol.

I’ll see if I can pry hard data out of one of the labs I helped get running here in Eugene.

I know they saw some strange stuff that seemed to be related to the heptane denatured they chose to run & they have solid analytics at this point.