Ethanol extracting non frozen very wet material?

Have a friend who wants to wash a bunch of their bud that was water washed for hash. We were talking about pressing it then freezing it and cryo extracting it.

Also talked about hang drying or basic drying to get it a little dryer and then just room temp ethanol washing it, I’ve never done it before but I assume it would work it would just ruin the ethanol and wouldn’t extract very well because it would immediately water down the ethanol.

Anyone dealt with something like this?

Appreciate y’all

For the sake of satisfying my own curiosity i have ice water washed spent material that was extracted via butane (nastiest looking “hash” I’ve ever seen lol) and i have also ran butane extraction on spent material that was ice water washed.

Neither were consumed, both were discarded.

Both results from both ends of the spectrum yielded pure garbage.

My suggestion… tell your friend not to attempt this, do not consume it and definitely do not sell it to someone who doesn’t know any better.

Don’t even waste your time on spent material.

The vast majority of goodies are looooong gone.

AND if he’s adamant about using the spent material, distillate is the way to go…

We used to steam extract terpenes from fresh frozen material, did thousands of pounds. We would take the wet material and stacked it on nets in a grow tent with a dehumidifier and then extract with -25c ethanol in a fuge. Worked well, And for crude oil didn’t mind the end product at all. lot of sugars from the heat of the steam distillation prior to extration but easily remedied with a liquid to liquid.

2 Likes

Rotovapping really watered down ethanol is no fun, plus all the water solubles you pull when it’s wet are pretty bad. It’s very much like you imagined already.

If your friend was washing their bud… chances are they have a freeze dryer of some sort for the down stream process after washing.