Epilepsy and CBD abd Cannabis

Hi

I am not sure if I posted this in the right section so I apologize in advance

I have a friend whose teenager has been battling epilepsy.

He currently has 5 seizures daily

He is taking several meds and isn’t finding any relief from them

We live up in Canada so cannabis is legal everywhere and most cities have legal dispensaries

He started using a high CBD tincture with low THC and started seeing a small improvement

he was taking in about 200mg of CBD per day

but these government tinctures even the strongest ones only have about 700mg CBD per 30ml bottle and run about $70

So even at such a low dose that bottle only lasts about 2 days making it too expensive to keep up with even this low dose let alone experiment with much higher doses

from what I studied he isn’t taking a high enough dose to make a huge difference

I have read from studies that most need 40-60mg of CBD per kg of weight

at his weight, I think he would need 2200-2500mg per day

the issue is that up in Canada getting CBD distillate or Isolate is hard to find even though high THC cannabis is legal and everywhere

I know this sounds stupid but that is the current state of things in Canada

CBD on the black market in Canada is hit and miss because many give fake CBD to make a buck

With most on this forum selling CBD isolate for $300 -$450 per kg, high dose protocols are much more affordable for those that need large doses especially when compared to the little options that Canadians have

Does anyone here have any recommendations on different dosing protocols for CBD and even THC for epilepsy?

Any experiences using CBD distillate over CBD Isolate?

Any tips or ideas would be greatly appreciated

This is why many Canadians are trying to access bulk CBD products to help with crippling diseases like epilepsy and are locked in a quagmire

thank you in advance for any help

2 Likes