Educated grower in Utah seeking new employment

Hi everybody,

I’m interested in seeking out a new position with a company that has some spirit and plays by the rules.

I currently live in Northern Utah but I am willing to relocate to Washington, Oregon, California, or Nevada. Anywhere along the West coast would be great. I was born and raised in Utah and graduated from Weber State University in 2013 with a B.S. in Botany and a Chemistry Minor. I have also completed the Master Gardener Program from Utah State University, Utah’s Land Grant school. I have several letters of recommendation from previous employers in the nursery industry. Prior to attending college I was a commercial pilot and flight instructor, passing 100% of my students on their first attempt at the FAA exams. Because of this experience, I can comfortably dig into regulations. I’m mechanically inclined and enjoy learning. I have the people skills necessary to work with employees, owners, contractors, architects, engineers, and so on.

I have a decent amount of management experience in a wholesale nursery environment. At one point I was responsible for 36,000 square feet of greenhouses as well as managing the planting schedule and the crews who helped me tend to those plants. Another role had me in charge of 85,000 square feet of outdoor perennial plants and 24,000 square feet of greenhouses, including a propagation house and the frequent operation of an automated seeding machine. Large scale plant production is my favorite position to be in. Extraction is an extremely close second; either position would be great. I will admit that I am new to extraction, but the processes make sense and I am able to dive into technical subjects. I am comfortable operating heavy machinery such as front end loaders, forklifts, tractors, and planting equipment. I can work farmer’s hours with no issue and actually enjoy some physical labor.