Discerning between choice of acid catalyst in CBD to D8 conversion

I am new to the CBD to D8 conversion and I am trying to figure out what characteristics are most desirable in an acid when choosing one. I have heard of people using HCl, pTSA, etc. but I don’t know why someone would choose one over the other.

I have ran the reaction with various acids but only because of literature that I have read. I am really just trying to understand the theory more.

1 Like

Definitely all here to be searched. PTSA seemed to be the favored choice. See the d8 sop threads.

2 Likes

are there any good ones you can refer me to? I am very new to future4200
@moveweight

2 Likes
8 Likes

There are many variables from my experience. Solvent choice, batch size, workability of the catalyst, desired outcome of %'s. I’ve ran this conversion with 3 different solvents (heptane, hexane, toluene) all with ptsa in various sized batches. Also, some catalysts are harder to neutralize and remove from the crude than others. It probably will come down to whatever you are comfortable with working with. Main thing is to be CAREFUL in your lab.

2 Likes

I think the most important variable is temperature, and the ability to maintain desired target temperature.

Cyclizations are generally pretty exothermic. Things like rate of addition can have a big effect on your ability to maintain temperature.

1 Like

Also starting with a true sop that will get you to your desired cannabinoid %.
@mitokid raised an important fact. Heat and controlling the exothermic spike is of great importance and really dictates the run.

3 Likes

I think the MOST important thing is the ability to purify the reaction mixture. If you can’t clean it up properly, you are creating and selling poison. It’s one thing to dabble in synthesis, it’s another thing entirely to dabble and sell said product to another human to inhale.

3 Likes