Determine if oil needs to be winterized

I know the most obvious answer is to dissolve a sample into ethanol, freeze and watch for separation. My question is, can you identify fats and waxes before introducing any sort of ethanol?

I recent bought some live resin, seems to be the cleanest extract I’ve gotten without making it myself. I’m going to decarb in a small vessel to retain the terps and use the oil for carts. With all the bho slabs I’ve had before I always winterize then decarb. This is my first time working with live resin

This time I was going to decarb then winterize so I can use the ethanol to flush the oil and terp from the decarb vessel. Thing is, if the extraction was done right, then it shouldn’t pull fats and waxes and winterizing isn’t necessarily, right? So how do I determine if a oil has fats and waxes without dissolving and freezing some. Is there a way?

I was going to winterize just to be safe, unless you guys convince me otherwise

Product in question, claimed to be papaya live resin

2 Likes

Have you dabbed any yet? Looks like my cbd disty

2 Likes

Yes, I’ve taken several dabs on a terp slurper. Seems super clean, first dab I took was small, nice terpy hit, completely evaporated and the slurper looked completely clean, no residue or anything. Next few dabs were fatter, didn’t finish them so there was a bit left over for clean up.

It might be a bit too terpy, some of the oz jars are softer with more terps then the ones pictured. I’m sure I’ll loose some in the decarb and winterizing process though

1 Like

No way to know for absolute surety without dissolving a sample.

4 Likes

I would decarb the material in a mason jar, or other sealed vessel with a PRV, like you said.

If it was a clean dab I wouldn’t winterize anything…mostly because it will decimate your terps, right after you took steps to try and preserve them.

Reference dred pirate’s old post about live resin carts

1 Like