Deliberate Co-Crystallization of Cannabinoids: An interesting Challenge

So I have an interesting dilemma that is coming soon and more than anything else, this should serve as a though experiment.

I’m currently getting ready for my states legal market as the licenses are only a few months away from rolling out. Many of my processes will adapt easily (probably better) to THC. However, my state is putting some interesting limitations on the market, the one most annoying to me is a potency limit of 60% total THC in solid concentrates. This is very frustrating for me because I was very excited to r&d diamonds!

I figured to get around this, I could just add my terp sauce on top such that it took up 31% by weight (correcting for decarbing). I could also dilute the terps if that number was too high. I don’t really like those options though, since 31% terps is a lot and I don’t like cutting agents.

However, my background is in organic optoelectronics and a project that I spent a lot of time on was a making co-crystal for thin film photovoltaics. The two molecules I used was pyrene and tetracyanoquinodimethane (TCNQ). When these two were dissolved in their solvent (tetrahydrofuran, THF), they were very soluble…until you mixed them! The solutions would go from yellow-ish and green to black and solid would begin to precipitate. These were both planar molecules and they would arrange themselves in an alternating fashion, the color change was caused by a charge transfer, lowering band gap etc.

The point being that in this case, adding the second molecule caused this to crystallize faster, instead of inhibiting it.

My question is, does anyone know of a similar phenomenon going on with other cannabinoids? We all know CBD and THC love to inhibit each other and having as many cannabinoids as possible makes crystal resistant distillate, but CBG or CBGa could do the trick, especially how much CBG/a likes to crystallize. I’d be curious to see what people think.

2 Likes