Definitions

Hello all. I am a broker in the CO MMJ industry and I am looking to move into hemp. I notice that there are a ton of words flying around that I’ve either had to ask what it means or simply don’t know.

I was thinking that this would be a good place to start a thread that defines these terms for newcomers. Maybe if we get enough going this would be a good thread to sticky as to help others seeking knowledge on some of the basics.

Biomass - Hemp specifically falls under a fuel classification that is called biomass. Biomass is a term for the organic matter that can be converted into and used as fuel and is thus considered as a potential renewable energy source.

Blasting - Doing an extraction run on a Closed Loop System. The term describes the action of a gas rapidly soaking and then moving through plant material inside a CLS.

Bump - A sudden extreme gas formation while boiling a mixture of liquids

Cannabidoil - One of at least 85 active cannabinoids identified in cannabis. It is a major phytocannabinoid, accounting for up to 40% of the plant’s extract. CBD is considered to have a wider scope of medical applications than tetrahydrocannabinol.

Cannabinoid - Cannabinoids are naturally occurring compounds found in the Cannabis sativa plant. Of over 480 different compounds present in the plant, only around 66 are termed cannabinoids.

Cannabis - Cannabis is a genus of flowering plants that includes three different species, Cannabis sativa, Cannabis indica, and Cannabis ruderalis. These species are indigenous to Central and South Asia.

Cat 2 - It stands for Category 2 and is a California thing. Someone else will have a better answer for this. The BCC website has info showing that Cat 1 and Cat 2 are screens for certain pesticides…so Cat 2 would be cleaner.