Chiller questions

Hey guys, I’m fairly new to extractions first of all. I’m looking for a way to boost or change my current setup. There’s 3 PolyScience AD-15s: 1 for the columns, 1 for the solvent tank jacket, and one for the inner coil on the solvent tank.

Now these units are rated and set to -40C, room is 19-21C…Column gets to -18, Tank jacket gets to -10, and Coil gets to -20 overnight or -22 after chilling all weekend.

Is there a way to get any colder without changing everything out? I’d like to get at least below -25 if not closer to -40. Budget isn’t a huge deal but yeah, cheaper while still reliable is always better!

Any ideas?

1 Like

How much gap do you have between them, how much space from behind to the wall? It is possible that you’ve crowed them and lowered their efficency. How many amps are you pulling and what is your panel rated for. Is each unit in a dedicated circuit or on its own breaker? @indofab said that they may be competing for power at peak draw.

1 Like

I have a theory about the power, but to start:
What coolant are you using?
When did you last replace the coolant?
Did they ever achieve -40?

2 Likes

Good question… could be a chronic issue …

All chillers will lose cooling power in an exponential (non-linear) manner as the temp drops. This simply means that it likely doesn’t have the power to combat the heat gained by the ambient atmosphere. In short try insulating everything better and see if that helps. The heat exchange from chiller to atmosphere could also be improved so better air flow, lower room temp, etc

3 Likes

I noticed in chiller manual it says
“Cooling Capacity @ -20°C (W) 265”
which to me says the lower you go, the less wattage is left for cooling (this makes sense). Does this translate to 'once you hit -20 on this 1000W chiller you are consuming 735 Watts? Leaving you 26.5% of power for a substantial amount of cooling (an additional -20c).

thank you (anyone) for the edification.