CBDa extraction with ethanol and water

What would need to be done differently to achieve good yields with hemp?

4 Likes

Looks cool

Not sure if it would be beneficial over other extraction styles… I also don’t know if pH 9.5 would be high enough to bond with the acidic cannabanoids

:shushing_face: it’s all your fault. You sneaky spoonreader.

1 Like

I have heard whispering of this being done, i figured starting a topic was the best way to get a public discussion going

3 Likes

Any chance method B would work to separate CBDVA from 50% CBD crude?

This method adjusts the pH to 8.4 and reduces the volume to 20-50%. The BP of ethanol is ~173, and water is 212. Would this cause any isomerization to D10 or CBN?

Is hexane with a low BP a better alternative to keep CBDA without decarbing?

(Sorry if I’m asking questions that make you think I drink pumpkin spice lattes)

1 Like

I have no experience with the mixture of both water and alcohol extraction. Understanding extraction you would have to find a way to separate water/alcohol/oil. This would seem very time consuming. I have personally extracted both THC and CBD using water with much success.

the target compound (cbda) should precipitate out if you decrease the solubility of the ethanol by increasing the amount of water correct? Or am i missing something

1 Like

Louche alert! Yes that is correct

5 Likes

Your not removing alcohol by adding volume your just making alcohol anhydrous you will still have to separate the two eventually. Water and alcohol have much different boiling points as well. You can ultimately pull the cannabinoids out using water and drop out of solution with the right sop. Your complicating the process

the word had escaped me, ty!

1 Like

Sometimes a search term is all you need!

1 Like

Anytime you add water you add significant energy in evaporation energy required.