Career Direction for Recent Grad

Im not quite sure if ive posted this in the correct category, but I was wondering if someone could put out some advice pertaining to a recent graduate wanting to enter the cannabis industry and/or in government regulation. I am a recent graduate and majored in environmental science. I did some research into environmental toxicology looking at the toxicity and persistence of heavy metals in aquatic systems; which i found to be highly relevant when we talk about heavy metal contamination of biomass whether its from soil composition or pesticide applications. So I have found some relevance within cannabis

Currently I work for a cannabis tek manufacturer/distributor and so Ive had the opportunity to gain a slightly broad insight of the industry. In addition, ive had numerous opportunities to get hands on with extraction, distillation, and refinement. As someone who wants to continue with a masters I find myself stuck in how to navigate within the industry with hopes of effectively applying graduate school with the needs of the industry. Im open minded in seeking a career in a more technical lab environment and/or looking at governmental agencies who will eventually increase their scope on newly recreational states.

5 Likes

Find a grower who will stick you up on a hill with a few hundred plants for 1/4 of the crop. Avoid helicopters and tweakers
Enjoy the isolation and self reflection
Learn about plants
Move along

Or if you are aiming for a legit lab environment I’d check indeed.com for the whole state you are in. Option 1 is something you’ll never forget though

14 Likes

What exactly are you asking? Sounds to me like you are smoothing a couple topics together.

Are you asking about how to juggle grad school with a job or how to get a new job/career change or how to get promoted to a different position in the same career or if to should go to grad school or ??!?