c1d1 confusion

Hey everyone. We are trying to figure out what all auxiliary equipment you use inside your c1d1 extraction booths. if any at all. OUr local rules require vac purging inside our booth. Im new to these sort of regs. Our extraction technique requires a chiller, recovery pump, heater, 2 circulation pumps.
post processing uses a vac oven and pump. none of this equipment has explosion proof plugs. Did you guys have to alter your equipment to fit with explosion proof outlets?
Do any other jurisdictions require you guys to have all of this equipment inside the booth? How did you guys deal?

plumb it thru a wall

2 Likes

you mean run all my plugs through the wall so the electrical connection is outside the booth?

1 Like

nope other way around, plumb your chiller lines, recovery pump lines, heater lines and 2 circ pump lines thru the wall to the stainless steel, leaving the chillers, heaters and pumps in their own space

5 Likes

nice. those are great solutions. then id just need c1d1 hook ups for the vac oven alone. id be able to run the vac pump through the wall too it would seem.

Make sure you contact the booth provider to figure out where to put them holes. Drilling in the wrong spot could be costly.

2 Likes

been talking to him a lot lol. he did not provide the above solution tho. his solution was a dozen plugs and altering all my equipment

Just modifying your vac oven plug does not make it explosion proof…

Same goes for a HPLC, which also uses explosive solvents but is not explosion proof.

8 Likes

good to know. what is hplc?

high performance liquid chromatography. usually used for analytical testing

1 Like