Building my first ethanol extractor

Hello Future4200,
long time reader and first time poster. I’m a medical cannabis grower out of Nova Scotia. I am ready to put together an ethanol extractor. All of this will be at a pilot/hobby scale but I want to build with an intention of scaling. Washing 2-4lbs at a time.

I am a red seal welder with extensive exotic metal / high pressure experience (multiple ASME certifications). I have access to waterjet, machining equipment, full welding shop. I also get wholesale pricing on dry ice, so it seems the most logical method for chilling at my scale.

I implore you to poke holes in my design/thought process. I’d rather knock the kinks out ahead of time. I’ve done a number of runs via bucket tek and really want to apply my skillset to build some badass equipment. I definitely have large holes in my technical knowledge (I’m no chemist or thermodynamics whiz), but I can design and build anything out of metal and stainless is my specialty.

What I will build.

50L reflux still. Will use a 50L keg boiler with coil dephlegmator on top and secondary tubular heat exchanger.

25L jacketed vessel for material
Either a 6” or 8” jacketed spool with tri clamp caps with necessary plumbing. 6”x15” or 8”x8”

Chill product in vessel and then flood with chilled ethanol. Panda spinner for after draining.

I am using a lenticular filtration solution.

Pump will pull directly from vessel through filter into some sort of storage vessel (bucket, keg, tank).

At this point I want to recover my solvent, I know that the direct heat from my keg boiler burner will degrade my product.

But I’m wondering if I can use that same jacketed vessel and cycle hot water/steam to heat solution evenly and use my reflux column + vacuum to recover solvent.

Ps here’s a water distiller I built a few months back.

3 Likes

Glad to hear that you are building