Average joe trying to isomerize CDB Isolate / Distillate the right way

Dear future4200 community,
I know this topic have been covered several times, i think I’ve read most of them, including the bundled interesting dramas. I’m seeking answers i wasn’t able to find on my own.

So if your Schedule allows it, bear with me for few minutes.

Who is the OP ?
I’m a cyber security guy, i liked to pretend that i was a scientist (Master degree of computer science) until the reality and this forum slapped me in the face.

Self research / experience i did

I started with 0 lab gear.

• Pot with boiling water containing a glass with citric acid a and 99% CBD Isolate.
    Result 1 : I cracked the glass and the contents evaporated.
    Result 2 (While controlling the water temp below 100° for 2 hours) : No isomerization.

So homework time:

• Distillation
  • Reflux
  • Solvent
  • T41, Activated carbon, T5, Sulfuric acid…

The more i read the more i found chemistry interesting. I mean it just look like hacking the physics.
Amazon time. i bought a hot plate with stirring and a boiling flask.
Then i crafted a home made reflux which is not working pretty well to be honest :sunglasses:.
Lets try again.

• one Coffee spoon of coconut oil 0.3g of CBD isolate one spatula of edible activated charcoal
    Result 1 80° for 2 hours with stirring : No isomerization (i replaced the AC with citric acid: same result).
    Result 2 120° for 2 hours with stirring : No isomerization (i replaced the AC with citric acid: same result).
    Result 3 160° for 2 hours with stirring : No isomerization (i replaced the AC with citric acid: same result).

I will receive my distillation apparel soon, but i think I’m missing something in the process. (I’m avoiding toxic product until i know what I’m doing).

The question
Can you please enlighten me about what am i doing wrong. 50% conversion to d8 is close enough.

Thanks for reading and your time.

3 Likes