Anyone into machine learning?

so im just getting into machine learning… like green af. ive been reading a bunch over the last few days on tf, pytorch, keras, etc…

I have a workstation that i happened to pick up for a steal of a deal and i want to get into machine learning with it for a recycling idea that i have. but i honestly have absolutely no idea where to start with it. other than that all i know, is that its an absolute must that i incorporate machine learning into my idea.

if anyone is wondering what my workstation is:

CPU: tr pro 3995wx
GPU: asrock 6800xt
MB: asus wrx80e
RAM: 64GB DDR4 2666mhz (non-ecc)

i know that i need to replace my gpu with at least an a6000 but more ideally an a100/h100 (crazy expensive i know), cause amd cards are garb for ML, and that ill need more ram and ideally ecc

2 Likes

That’s quite the box. Good find.

Find a problem, or make one up. Solve it. Wash rinse repeat.

ML is a very broad field. Computer vision and text analysis and time series analysis have little in common with eachother. Everyone’s got a hard on for neural nets, and they’re a useful tool, but I think one that people reach for too early many times, outside of specific use cases where they are the current best tool for the job - CV/image processing specifically.

I’ve never done much vision work, so have never really played with video card parallel processing. You can do a lot without the brute force of CUDA if you learn to chunk your data and multithread your operations.

I personally think that time series analysis and forecasting is one of the areas with the most real-world leverage but I’m just some guy who doesn’t really know what he’s doing.

If you want to learn, the Statistical Learning online course is excellent, as the one by Andrew Ng that was on Coursera at one point.

Some enjoy kaggle and similar, though I’ve never had the time/inclination to play with such things myself. Though I’ve heard good things.

4 Likes