Advice on distillation AFTER a bubble hash wash

Hey everyone, first time posting and never been an avid forum poster, always a lurker, so please be kind if I’ve made mistakes.

I’m based in AU and my options on extraction are limited, we seem to be in early stages of hydrocarbon extraction and equipment can be hard to find.

However rosin presses seem to be everywhere, and I’ve gotten into making water hash from my trim and pressing that. (Quite happy with the results actually)

The issue is I seem to have so much waste! There’s visible trichomes left on my plant material after washing and my only thought on what to do with it is distillate.

Obviously I would have to dry my wet material prior to alcohol extraction, (which is something else I wanted to ask, is ethanol or isopropyl preferred?) but my main question is whether or not already washed plant material will result in acceptable distillate?

I’m a very small scale producer in comparison to a lot of the posters on here and don’t want to fund a short path distillation setup if its going to result in a very dark or subpar distillate (eg: i yield so little that I end up with all heads and tails.)

Cheers and sorry if this is the wrong section to be posting! Happy to delete the thread and repost if so.

1 Like

You got nothing to be sorry about my friend! This type of thinking advances our industry. Welcome!

Whereas i’m a rosin guy myself, distillation is not my strong suit but I agree - there’s so much STILL in your biomass after a wash it would be a shame not to think of some sort of system to not waste it! I’m sure you’ll have some really good responses here.

2 Likes

As a small scale producer, I think it might be difficult for you to find value in this yourself.