Advice for "Over-qualified" Job Seekers

Hey guys, been on Future4200 for a little while now and love the community’s sharing attitude and wealth of knowledge! I got into the industry a little over a year and a half ago and have been working mainly with CO2 extraction. While I have little industry job experience (I did manage a very small test lab for an oil/gas company for a few years after college), I feel my education is mostly holding me back. I have a master’s degree in mechanical engineering and was never able to get into that field. I’m switching careers like a lot of people have but I come across many job rejections along the lines of, “well you’re just going to leave for something better or leave the industry”. I’ve gotten this countless times and I’m not understanding this line of thinking, mainly because successful companies have explosive growth potential. I’m considering taking my master’s off my resume and just leaving my undergrad education to land another tech position (manager positions mostly hire from experience so I need to wait). Looking to see what you guys think and any suggestions for us young industry professionals who want land positions higher than grunt. Thanks!

2 Likes

Start your own on the CBD side. You’ll never get paid what you’re worth. I’ve been at this game for nearly 10 years thinking there are intelligent, understanding and long term thinking CEOs and owners. There’s not. Or if there are, they’re not hiring. Honestly, every ‘organization’ I’ve been a part of has been completely unorganized, unfulfilling and unmanageable. They dont know what they want and are afraid to admit they’re simply exploiting our experience and the industry in general so theres always a gap between what they truly want out of your experience and what’s good for you, the employees and the industry. My advice, forget about working for other people. It’s just a huge pain and not worth the money, which is no where near what you’re earn for the company, ever.