Acidic Compounds in Vape Fluid?

Hello,

Long time visitor to the site, first time poster. I work for a cannabis laboratory. Recently, with new regulations, all vaporizer oil must be tested after already being filled into carts. A few of our cartridges came back testing positive for lead. For clarity’s sake, we fill with distillate and a 7% cut of Abstrax terpenes, nothing else.

I have read anecdotal information suggesting that this could be due to acidic terpenes and/or cannabinoids leaching the toxic metal. Because we fill with distillate, no acidic cannabinoids are left, and so the culprit must be from the terpenes. Unfortunately, I haven’t found much information to support them having strong acidic character. I majored in O-chem but it has been a long time since I’ve practiced any of the nitty gritty, and am having trouble identifying which protons would be likely culprits for donation. I would assume alchoholic terpenoids are more acidic than their purely hydrocarbon counterparts, but the only information I can find still gives them a relatively high pKa (in the range of 15-20). I suppose this could be enough to leach lead into the material but I am not sure. Does anyone have any first hand knowledge or references that can support this?