The Geometry & Design of Distillation Heads

Hi All,

I haven’t seen much discussion regarding different distillation head designs, packings, stage-type distillation, and the like.

From my time as a student, I remember the infinitesimal detail required to appropriately design an industrial-scale distillation column that was both effective and efficient. With cannabis it’s hard, because you’re dealing with a very complex mixture with many, MANY constituents.

My question is: what kind of distillation heads do you use, why do you use them and how can we begin to quantitatively determine the properties of cannabinoids mixtures in the context of the math that models distillation?

8 Likes

Short path in general
First pass without pakking
Second pass with packing
Some times 30 cm vigreax with glass indents
Some times hempel. Colom with rashig rings or copper scrubies

2 Likes

May I ask you what particular application case do you have for the columns?
I searched vigreaux but it is not so popular around here.
Do you have much loss in such a setup?

I am prob the only person here with true knowledge on this subject and I can tell you it’s because nobody else cares enough to do the r and d and find out these answers. People who sell counterfeit glass of mine don’t even know how it works.