Testing Woe’s

Good evening everyone,

First off I’d like to extend my thanks and express my gratitude. This forum is absolute gold. I’m a new member, and am fascinated by the amount of information given coupled with the expertise.

I work in the MMJ industry in AZ. The labs out here have been unregulated for the better part of 8 years. Labs have created their own in-house methodologies and validation methods, this has created notable variances between competing companies. Our company struggles with finished good potency. Our distillate supplier provides CoA’s with all purchases with potency over 91 every. single. time. We recently made a change to which lab we test at. Please keep in mind that we made this change for the better, the new lab is very reputable and is on track to become the first licensed lab in AZ. Our distillate potency has dropped 10% in some cases. The lab explains it’s an accurate result and previous ones may have been manually inflated. That realization is a tough pill to swallow considering price point is directly associated with potency. The lab has preformed an audit and passed with flying colors. How could a supplier or producer validate the accuracy of a testing facility’s methods and validation process? Thanks for any and all help!

In-house analytics. You are paying for a service, if you can show that you aren’t getting the service you can withhold payments, break contracts, etc. This happens all the time in food and beverage. If the 3rd party lab messes up compared to the in house number enough times, they lose the business.

It can be daunting if you don’t know where to start, but if that’s the case you are definitely in the right place and it’s really not as expensive as the labs would have you think.

My 2¢ Cheers!

2 Likes

Great point. Unfortunately we do not have the capabilities to build out an in-house analytics lab to compare results. Maybe hire an analytical supervisor who can preform 3rd party audits ?