Seeking some advice on falling film distillation

I am new to processing…So when I put the crude into the distiller, everything is going fine, and then the “trash” side gums up and backflows into the “good” side with a black, almost glass-like substance. The temps are at the recommended setpoints. This has happened a few times…we have taken apart the whole thing and cleaned it, and cleaning every day.

I have heard 2 theories- 1. too much chlorophyll in my crude and 2. extraction process “too good” (that from the manufacturer), adjusted temps as recommended and still happening.

Thoughts?
Thnaks

1 Like

I don’t think I understand what kind of unit you’re using and what process you’re doing but it sounds like you need to turn your residue/evap temps way up or sacrifice product to allow it to flow down. Can you post a link to the equipment? Are you using this to pull thc from crude or to strip solvent?

We are using Delta Separations rolled film distillation unit. https://www.deltaseparations.com/distillation/
We are pulling CBD from crude, the ethanol has been taken out by a reactor beforehand.

The residue isn’t heated on that unit. You can get a heating gun and ensure the flow continues, essentially babysitting the unit ( I have had this issue in smaller stills) or get those silicone/cloth heat strips to keep things viscous enough to move.

1 Like

I tried the heat gun thing this morning. It worked and when I took it away, it gunked up immediately. Any idea why it would do this and not be a problem for every other user of that machine?

Thank you for the help!!

1 Like