RDWC vs Butch Bucket vs AutoPot AWFT

Hello,

Im very interested in doing a hydro grow, I plan on having a 5x10 tent,

My friend already donated a 25 gallon 6 plant AutoPot AWFT0006 . Which ill have on one side of my grow room.

For the other part of my grow room i want to install a selfmade hydro system.

Some background. -
Intially the plan was to build a butch bucket system. I got the pvc pipes, pumpss and elbows, etc.
I stupudly spent 110 dollars on 10 pre made dutch buckets.

I then spoke to my mentor and his concern was since the buckets doesn’t drain all the way and the roots always being in the nutrient solution that may cause root rot.

His suggestion was to return the buckets and build a dwc system, since it will give me a bigger yield.

I need your help with building a good and cost effective system.

What should I do? I still need to buy lights for this tent.

I have no experience working with dutch buckets so I’m excited to heard peoples opinions who have
I do want to test them out as the simplicity of operating a large quantity would be ideal for a few situations
I can’t forsee the pooling water being an issue as otherwise the thousands of tomato plants grown in them would suffer the same fate
But this would also depend on your cycling rate and temperature mainly if the water remains cool and is replaced multiple times per day there should not be significant more risk then rdwc
I am interested in trialling coco chips running DTW with perhaps 6 or more feeds per day

1 Like

Just get a chiller and it will save most systems from root rot. Lower temps hold more oxygen.

2 Likes

I run all my moms in dwc buckets with the roots in water and have no problems. Like mentioned temps matter immensely

2 Likes

so no need to build a new rdwc set up?

do you have any experience with butch bucket?