Problem w/ crude and a couple newbie SPD questions

Aloha all. I am new here so a brief introduction and then my questions.

I have been in the cannabis industry in NorCal for several years and before that I worked as a lab tech for a biotech company straight our of uni. I have worked for extraction labs before but am just now embarking on the SPD road on my own and I have lots of questions. So…

1. I recently made a batch of cryo alcohol crude with some new material I obtained and it came out quite runny and during decarb it formed waxy globs as well as a hard crust on the bottom of the container and on top of the crude that reminded me of caramelized sugar. I have made crude tons of times before and never had this happen.

What could have gone wrong? I did everything as normal with one exception. My thermometer seems to have been out of calibration and may have been telling me the extraction temps were colder than they actually were. Still, I have made RSO at room temp and never seen this happen.

1. I am wondering what the best oil would be for running a Welch 1400 on a 2L rig. Since I am a beginner should I go ahead and buy the proprietary Welch oil or would any 19 or 20 grade pump oil be fine? I am trying to minimize potential sources of failure for my first run when the equipment arrives.

2. Would the Welch 1400 definitely be sufficient for a 2L? It’s used but the guy who sold it had a pic on ebay of it pulling ultimate vacuum down to 1 micron. The guys I used to work with had big Edwards direct drive pumps.

Thank you to any one who has some answers! I am excited to be embarking into this world.

Oh… addendum: more questions.

1. When the distillate stops dripping and starts to run thick, does that definitely mean I am on my main body? Some one I worked with told me once that just because I am getting honey does not mean I am pulling only main body and I should watch for red and blue colors to appear which I am assuming must be plant pigments.