Piecing together a rotovap oof!

So i’m pretty new to all this and have been fantasizing about a rotary evaporator for a minute so I been piecing one together buying the cheapest parts i can find on Ebay as they appear. Anyway I get my new condenser in today and what do you know the motor driving the rotovap is right in the way of where the receiving Flask is meant to go! I mainly posted this to bitch and let out my frustration but if anyone has any ideas I’m all ears! Wish I would have paid more attention to the construction of both items.

Flip the motor.

4 Likes

Not sure it’s possible this model only has threads on one side.

Ok I’m pretty dumb lmao

Is the angle of the dangle fixed? In otherwords cab you change the angle of the condenser?

I flipped it I don’t know why I couldn’t see that lol, the stand for the water bath is on the wrong side now but that’s actually a good thing be I’m using a much larger water bath than would come with this machine. Thanks.

1 Like

This runs 80L per hour

8 Likes

That’s pretty cool man, I was thinking about going DIY but wants finding many resources. I think it was thought emporium on YouTube that had the best example of a homemade one I found when I was looking but construction required access to a metal lathe. If I would have seen this probably would have tried. What model and brand is the vacuum pump? still don’t have one as I’m not exactly sure what’s the minimum I could get away with is.

Im just teasing. Who knows if this works. I found this vid on youtube a while back, thought it was hilarious but also creative.

4 Likes

Lmao seems much better than no roto, idk why but I didn’t catch the sarcasm 80l per hour :joy:

Rotate the motor assembly so the motor is pointing up, then rotate the condenser assembly so the receiver outlet is pointed down. This puts the condenser on the left instead as on the right as you show it.

2 Likes