Opinions on across international short path

Hi there I’m looking for my first set up, I was thinking of going with the across international 5L but with the Lab Society high efficiency head. I’m just worried about the quality of glass. Any opinions?

Summit offers some distillation heads that stomp on the Lab society HE head

2 Likes

Like what head? I’ve heard that the LS HE head can cut run times in half…

im in the market for a new set of glassware so i too am interested in what you end up with

2 Likes

I’ve never used an AI SPD. I use a Jacketed SPD from Deschem a science glass supplier off of eBay based in chine. Ik… ik China glass gets a terrible reputation but I’ve been buying off this supplier for a solid 3 years now and I’m very content. All my labware has sustained all of my extractions and my SPD has lasted me a solid 3 years. I think thickness and temperature reliability is more worth looking into than just a supplier. It’s always good to look into specs. That being said ChemGlass makes a reliable USA manufactured SPD unit as well as AI if you are not into the whole “china glass”

2 Likes

3 500ml flasks
1 250 ml flask
1 1,000ml double neck flask
my cow head
my jacketed spd

almost nearly all my glassware came from Deschem (china) and If you want to go expensive or name brand I say you;re paying more for the name than the quality’ cause 3.3 boro is 3.3 boro nmw which way you look at it, ya know.

2 Likes

deschem is a good company, It’s a long wait for glass from china though.

2 Likes

most of the stuff i order from china gets to my door from 10-14 days. It can take 5-7 days from seattle to miami, and there is always express shipping. With the weight of the glass, you can express ship it for about $10 more normal and have it in 5 days.